Delaware Officeholders, 1787–1788

PRESIDENT ATTORNEY GENERAL

Thomas Collins Gunning Bedford, Jr.

SECRETARY OF STATE TREASURER

James Booth Joshua Clayton

PRIVY COUNCIL

(October 1787): John Clayton, Eleazer McComb, Charles Pope, James Sykes

SUPREME COURT

William Killen (Chief Justice), David Finney, John Jones

MEMBERS OF CONGRESS

(1786–1787): Gunning Bedford, Sr. (declined), Dyre Kearny (replaced Bedford), Nathaniel Mitchell, Thomas Rodney; (1787–1788): Isaac Grantham, Dyre Kearny, Nathaniel Mitchell

DELEGATES TO CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION

Richard Bassett, Gunning Bedford, Jr., Jacob Broom, John Dickinson, George Read

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Speaker: Thomas McDonoughClerk: James Sykes, John Edmunds Clayton

New Castle County Sussex County

Thomas McDonough Daniel Polk

George Read Alexander Laws

Nicholas Van Dyke Simon Kollock

(election voided,

KENT COUNTY 3 November)

James Tilton Isaac Horsey

John Baning (elected 26 November;

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

Speaker: Thomas Rodney, Jehu Davis Clerk: James Booth

New Castle County Kent County

Alexander Porter James Raymond

Thomas Evans John Gordon

Isaac Grantham Mark M'Call

Henry Latimer Jehu Davis

Thomas May John Revell

Thomas Robinson Thomas Rodney

Joshua Clayton John Vining

Sussex County Sussex County

(Election voided, 7 November) (Elected 26 November;

Rhoads Shankland seated January 1788)

George Mitchell Rhoads Shankland

Charles Polk George Mitchell

Nathaniel Hayes Charles Polk

William Peery Nathaniel Hayes

John Tennant Jeremiah Cannon

Nathaniel Waples Hap Hazzard

William Massey

Cite as: The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution Digital Edition, ed. John P. Kaminski, Gaspare J. Saladino, Richard Leffler, Charles H. Schoenleber and Margaret A. Hogan. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2009.

Canonic URL: http://rotunda.upress.virginia.edu/founders/RNCN-02-03-02-0001-0005 [accessed 16 Dec 2010]

Original source: Ratification by the States, Volume III: Delaware, New Jersey, Georgia, and Connecticut