Officers of the State of Rhode Island 1786–1790

Governor

John Collins (May 1786–May 1790) Arthur Fenner (first elected April 1790)

Deputy Governor

Daniel Owen (May 1786–May 1790) Samuel J. Potter (first elected

April 1790)

Justices of the Superior Court of Judicature

Elected May 1786

Paul Mumford, Chief Joseph Hazard Thomas Tillinghast Gilbert Devol David Howell Elected May 1787

Paul Mumford, Chief

William West Stephen Potter Walter Cooke

John Waite (declined)

Simeon Clarke, Jr. (elected in Sept.) Elected June 1788 and May 1789

Othniel Gorton, Chief

Othniel Gorton, Chief William West Stephen Potter Walter Cooke Simeon Clarke, Jr. Elected May 1790 Othniel Gorton, Chief

Daniel Owen Sylvester Robinson

Walter Cooke Ezekiel Gardner, Jr.

Secretary

Henry Ward

Attorney General

William Channing (elected April 1786) Henry Goodwin (elected April 1787 and April 1788)

David Howell (elected April 1789) Daniel Updike (elected April 1790)

Treasurer

Joseph Clarke

Annapolis Convention Commissioners

Elected June 1786 Jabez Bowen*

Christopher Champlin (declined)

Samuel Ward*

*Did not arrive before adjournment

Delegates to Congress

Elected May 1786

James Mitchell Varnum

Nathan Miller George Champlin* Peleg Arnold Elected May 1787 Peleg Arnold Jonathan J. Hazard* Daniel Manton*

Sylvester Gardner* Elected May 1788 and May 1789

Peleg Arnold

Jonathan J. Hazard Thomas Holden*

John Gardner (* in 1788) *Did not take seat in Congress

Continental Loan Officer
William Ellery

Judge, Northwest Territory
James Mitchell Varnum