Officers of the State of South Carolina 1787–1788

The constitutional officers (governor, lieutenant governor, privy counsellors), senators, and representatives served two-year terms. Four privy counsellors were elected each year. Judges served during good behavior. When electing other officers the General Assembly often, but not always, specified a two-year term. One of the two commissioners of the treasury was elected each year. The date of election (or service) is given for officers who served only a portion of the period between September 1787 and September 1788.

Governor Auditor Thomas Pinckney James McCall Lieutenant Governor Surveyor General **Ephraim Mitchell** Thomas Gadsden (elected March 1786) **Privy Council** Francis Bremar Pierce Butler (elected February 1788) John Lewis Gervais Edward Rutledge **Court of Chancery** William Washington Judges Term Expired Feb. 1788 John Rutledge Daniel Bourdeaux **Richard Hutson** John Huger John Mathews John Julius Pringle Master in Chancery Thomas Tudor Tucker William Hasell Gibbes Elected Jan. 1788 Register Thomas Bee* John Neufville, Jr. Ralph Izard, Sr. **Courts of Sessions and Pleas** Charles Pinckney Judges **Thomas Waties** Henry Pendleton *Declined and not replaced Aedanus Burke Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to Thomas Heyward the Governor John F. Grimké Stephen Drayton Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas William Mason Attornev General Clerk of the Court of General Sessions Alexander Moultrie Thomas Hall Secretary of State **Court of Admiralty** Peter Freneau Judge **Printer to the State** William Drayton Ann Timothy Register James Ballantine Commissioners of the Treasury (two Marshal positions) Edward Weyman Peter Bocquet (elected March 1787) John Edwards, Jr. **Collector of Customs** (elected February 1788) For Charleston James Mitchell (elected October 1785)¹ George Abbot Hall

For Georgetown John Cogdell For Beaufort Andrew Agnew

Commissioners of the Loan Office John Huger Thomas Jones John Postell

Commandant of Fort Johnson Francis Marion

State Engineer Christian Senf

Physician for the Port of Charleston George Logan

Powder Inspector and Arsenal Keeper Albert Aerny Muller

Delegates to Congress

November 1786–November 1787 Thomas Bee* Pierce Butler Daniel Huger John Kean John Parker November 1787–November 1788 Pierce Butler* Daniel Huger John Kean* John Parker Thomas Tudor Tucker *Did not attend

Constitutional Convention

Pierce Butler Henry Laurens, Sr. (declined) Charles Pinckney Charles Cotesworth Pinckney John Rutledge

1. Dead by 22 January 1788 when House of Representatives began process to replace him.