# **Constitutional Convention Delegates Who Served in State Ratifying Conventions**

#### **Connecticut**

Oliver Ellsworth William Samuel Johnson Roger Sherman

#### **Delaware**

Richard Basset Gunning Bedford, Jr.

### Georgia

William Few

## Maryland

Luther Martin *James McHenry*John F. Mercer

#### **Massachusetts**

\* Elbridge Gerry
Nathaniel Gorham
Rufus King
Caleb Strong

### **New Hampshire**

Nicholas Gilman John Langdon

### **New Jersey**

David Brearley

#### **New York**

Alexander Hamilton John Lansing, Jr. Robert Yates

#### North Carolina

William Blount
William R. Davie
Richard Dobbs Spaight

### Pennsylvania

James Wilson

# **South Carolina**

Charles Pinckney Charles Cotesworth Pinckney John Rutledge

#### Virginia

John Blair James Madison, Jr. George Mason Edmund Randolph George Wythe

Italicized names are delegates that signed the Constitution.

<sup>\*</sup> Elbridge Gerry was not an official delegate at the Massachusetts Ratifying Convention but was an invited guest.