The CSAC Fellows Program

 One of the objectives of The Center for the Study of the American Constitution (CSAC) is to extend the reach of our expertise and resources to a broad range of communities beyond the university. To that end we want to identify teachers throughout the state who have a proven record of commitment to teaching as a career. Our efforts with this program are to honor teachers and enhance their content knowledge and pedagogical skills in the Founding Period.  Each year the CSAC will accept applications and select six teachers from the state of Wisconsin to serve as CSAC Fellows. The CSAC staff will do selection of the Fellows. Any teacher who is currently under contract to teach in any Wisconsin school, public or private, is eligible to apply. CSAC Fellows are eligible for the fellowship upon reapplication.

Benefits of being a CSAC Fellow

  • General Awards
    • A cash award of $150
    • A Wisconsin Historical Society Membership
    • A set of reference books 
  • Conference Awards
    • Fellows will automatically be enrolled in 2 two-day workshops specifically designed for CSAC Fellows. One will be in the fall (December 11-12, 2016) and the second in the spring (April 2-3, 2017).
    • While at the conferences, Fellows will be housed on the campus of the UW-Madison. Meals will also be provided and stipends provided for travel. 
    • Fellows will be given access to conferences hosted by other UW outreach organizations.
    • Fellows will have opportunities to network with other teachers from around the state

2016-2017 Program

2016-17 Fellows Announcement and Agenda (pdf) 

Application Form (doc)  

Past CSAC Fellows


Angela Bazan   Deerfield High School 
Aaron Callender South Milwaukee High School
Tammy Johnson Kettle Moraine High School
Matt Scherbarth Mukwonago High School
Mary Talsky Pius XI High School
Chad Thompson DC Everest


Aaron Callender South Milwaukee High School
Tim Huebner Shiocton Middle School
David Olson Madison Memorial High School
Paul Stellpflug Oshkosh West High School
Mary Talsky Pius XI High School
Michael Vuolo Kettle Moraine High School


Audrey Damon-Wynne McFarland High School
Colleen Kollasch Deforest High School
Mary Silva Milwaukee Public Schools
Joe Schmidt Peshtigo Middle/High School
Jennifer Wachowski Mishicot High School


Kathryn Bartel St. Mary's Springs Academy
John Franco Waukegan High School
Lori Keough St. Charles High School
Vince Kube Columbus High School
David Moon Reedsburg High School
Pam Smith Florence High School


Val Crofts
Milton High School
Anna-Lisa Dahlgren
Marshall High School
Kevin Gleeson
Thomas More High School
Rick Kelm
Ripon High School
Berry Mellen
Sturgeon Bay High School
Ryan Mussack
Sauk Prairie High School
 Sarah Pica
 Cameron High School
 Steven Stary
 Notre Dame High School